Photo by OC Photography.

Originally from the U.S., award-winning author ANISE EDEN now lives in Ireland with her husband and their small, benevolent canine dictator. Anise is a former psychotherapist and a certified Reiki practitioner. You can learn more about Anise and her books at

For more information, check out Anise’s Media Kit and her FAQs (below). Member, RWA and RNA.


What kind of books do you write?
So far, Paranormal Romance and Romantic Suspense novels. THE HEALING EDGE SERIES has been called “atypical” paranormal romantic suspense — which is probably a polite way of saying “weird,” but that’s fine by me!  🙂 Readers have also labeled my work “Romance for smarties,” and compared my style to that of Kelley Armstrong (who is one of my all-time favorite writers, so I pretty much faint every time I hear that one).

While some of my books have fantasy elements, they’re also firmly grounded in reality, and weave together authentic love stories with suspense, mystery, and a quirky sense of humor. I love exploring the lively intersections of logic and intuition, Western and alternative medicine, and science and faith. My stories capture those pivotal moments when everything we think we know is thrown into question, and we must choose whether or not to risk embracing the unknown.

On social media, you talk about anxiety and other mental health issues. Do you have personal experience?
Yes. I’ve had an anxiety disorder since childhood, and have also struggled with depression. My desire to help others with similar difficulties led me to my former career as a psychotherapist. While I am no longer a healthcare provider, I still strive to be a mental health advocate, hoping to encourage greater understanding and to reduce stigma.


Some descriptions of THE HEALING EDGE SERIES mention parapsychology. What is that?
While there are many different definitions out there, I’d say that put simply, parapsychology is the study of paranormal phenomena, including psychic activity, telepathy, precognition, clairvoyance, and psychokinesis, among others.

How would you describe the “heat level” in your books?
I’d describe my books as “sweet” in romance genre-talk — or to be more specific, “clean-with-steam!”

Do the books in THE HEALING EDGE SERIES have to be read in order?
Ideally, the books should be read in order, as they follow a core group of characters over three consecutive weeks. However, each book was also written so that it could be read and appreciated as a stand-alone novel without the reader feeling lost.

Will there be more books in THE HEALING EDGE SERIES?
No more books are planned for now. Having said that, the series ended by opening a whole new world of possibilities, so there may well be more stories to tell.


What are you working on now?
I am currently working getting my new novel, DEAD SOUND (Things Unseen Series, Book 1), into readers’ hands! A gripping, wild ride of a romantic suspense novel with supernatural elements set in a Washington, D.C. hospital.  I’m also drafting the sequel, BANJAXED, which is set in Ireland. Check out my inspiration board on Pinterest here, and stay tuned for updates!


Listed with most recent first:

DEAD SOUND (a.k.a. “THE CRACKING”), (Things Unseen Series, #1)

Finalist, Indiana RWA Golden Opportunity Contest, Romantic Suspense, 2019
2nd Place, Virginia RWA Fool For Love Contest, Paranormal, 2019
Finalist, Valley Forge RWA Sheila Contest, Romantic Suspense, 2019

ALL THE LIGHT THERE IS (The Healing Edge, #3)

Finalist, Birmingham RWA Southern Magic Award of Excellence, Paranormal/Syfy/Fantasy, 2018

ALL THE WOUNDS IN SHADOW (The Healing Edge, #2)

Finalist, IAN Book of the Year Awards, Paranormal/Supernatural Fiction, 2017


Winner, Paranormal Romance Guild Reviewer’s Choice Award, Romance/Paranormal/Angels & Ghosts/Psychics Series, 2017

ALL THE BROKEN PLACES (The Healing Edge, #1)

Finalist, International Book Awards, Chick Lit/Women’s Lit, 2017
Winner, Paranormal Romance Guild Reviewer’s Choice Award, Best Paranormal Romance/Suspense Series, 2016
(Under a different working title, 2014):
Winner, Pacific Northwest Writers’ Association Literary Contest for Unpublished Work, Romance/Women’s Fiction
Winner, Valley Forge Romance Writers, The Sheila Contest, Paranormal

(Updated September 26, 2019)