Anise Eden’s Frequently Asked Questions

What kind of books do you write?
THE HEALING EDGE SERIES has been called “atypical” paranormal romantic suspense — which is probably a polite way of saying “weird,” but that’s fine by me!  🙂 I write suspense novels with romantic and paranormal elements. Readers have also labeled my work “Romance for smarties,” and compared my style to that of Kelley Armstrong (who is one of my all-time favorite writers, so I pretty much faint every time I hear that one).

My writing is firmly grounded in reality and weaves together authentic love stories with suspense, mystery, and a quirky sense of humor. I love exploring the lively intersections of logic and intuition, Western and alternative medicine, and science and faith. My stories capture those pivotal moments when everything we think we know is thrown into question, and we must choose whether or not to risk embracing the unknown.

On social media, you talk about anxiety and other mental health issues. Do you have personal experience?
Yes. I’ve had an anxiety disorder since childhood, and have also struggled with depression. My desire to help others with similar difficulties led me to my former career as a psychotherapist. While I am no longer a healthcare provider, I still strive to be a mental health advocate, hoping to encourage greater understanding and to reduce stigma.


Some descriptions of THE HEALING EDGE SERIES mention parapsychology. What is that?
While there are many different definitions out there, I’d say that put simply, parapsychology is the study of paranormal phenomena, including psychic activity, telepathy, precognition, clairvoyance, and psychokinesis, among others.

How would you describe the “heat level” in your books?
I’d describe my books as “sweet” in romance genre-talk — or to be more specific, “clean-with-steam!”

Do the books in THE HEALING EDGE SERIES have to be read in order?
Ideally, the books should be read in order, as they follow a core group of characters over three consecutive weeks. However, each book was also written so that it could be read and appreciated as a stand-alone novel without the reader feeling lost.

Will there be more books in THE HEALING EDGE SERIES?
No more books are planned for now. Having said that, the series ended by opening a whole new world of possibilities, so there may well be more stories to tell.

What are you working on now?
I am currently working getting my new novel, THE CRACKING, into readers’ hands! This first book in the Things Unseen Series is a gripping, wild ride set in a Washington, D.C. hospital. THE CRACKING (a.k.a. “Dead Sound”) won the IRWA Golden Opportunity Contest in Romantic Suspense, and placed in the Virgina RWA and Valley Forge RWA writing contests. I’m also in the process of drafting the sequel, THE BREAKING, which is set in Ireland. Check out my inspiration board on Pinterest here, and stay tuned for updates!

Subscribe to Anise’s Newsletter!

For quarterly news, sales, giveaways, updates, and more, sign up here.