WINNER! 2017 Paranormal Romance Guild Reviewer’s Choice Award

Get THE HEALING EDGE SERIES free on Kindle Unlimited here!
Also in paperback. Buy links here.

Anise’s FAQ

What kind of books do you write?
They’ve been called “atypical” paranormal romantic suspense novels — which is probably a polite way of saying “weird,” but that’s fine by me!  🙂 Readers have also labeled my work “Romance for smarties,” and compared my style to that of Kelley Armstrong (who is one of my all-time favorite writers, so I pretty much faint every time I hear that one).

While my books have fantasy elements, they’re also firmly grounded in reality, and weave together authentic love stories with suspense, mystery, and a quirky sense of humor. I love exploring the lively intersections of logic and intuition, Western and alternative medicine, and science and faith. My stories capture those pivotal moments when everything we think we know is thrown into question, and we must choose whether or not to risk embracing the unknown.

Some descriptions of THE HEALING EDGE SERIES mention parapsychology. What is that?
While there are many different definitions out there, I’d say that put simply, parapsychology is the study of paranormal phenomena, including psychic activity, telepathy, precognition, clairvoyance, and psychokinesis, among others.

How would you describe the “heat level” in your books?
I’d describe my books as “sweet” in romance genre-talk — or to be more specific, “clean-with-steam!”

Do the books in THE HEALING EDGE SERIES have to be read in order?
Ideally, the books should be read in order, as they follow a core group of characters over three consecutive weeks. However, each book was also written so that it could be read and appreciated as a stand-alone novel without the reader feeling lost.

Will there be more books in THE HEALING EDGE SERIES?
No more books are planned for now. Having said that, the series ended by opening a whole new world of possibilities, so there may well be more stories to tell.

What are you working on now?
I’m getting a huge kick out of writing my current work-in-progress, a paranormal suspense series-starter set in a Washington, D.C. hospital. The two main characters, who have a great Tracy & Hepburn vibe going on, have to treat patients and juggle their personal lives while trying to prevent the apocalypse. Stay tuned…